Covid

Weekly COVID Death Counts | Macon County Department of Health

This data counts the number of COVID-19 deaths found in Macon County, along with demographic data, including age, sex, and race.

Data Source

This data comes from Macon County Health Department. I look at their daily case-number infographics on facebook & write the numbers into a spreadsheet.

Notes about this data set

  • The infographics are released on Fridays about 5pm by MCHD
  • Demographics data includes 2 of the biological sexes, age, and race. Intersectionality data (such as "asian women ages 30-39") is NOT available
    • On Oct 12, 2021 I noticed their was also an "unknown" metric for "gender", but I have not added this to my spreadsheets.
  • The demographics data is for deaths, not cases.

General MCHD Data Reporting Notes

  • I have not collected case numbers throughout the pandemic, so I only have limited data available.
  • During periods of the pandemic, MCHD stopped posting upates
  • MCHD also used to post the infographics to their website. They stopped in August 2021.
  • MCHD does NOT make data available in spreadsheet format.
  • I have made FOIA requests for COVID data in a raw format, and my request was denied. They claimed it was unduly burdensome. I've heard from one other person who had a similar experience.

mchd-weekly-deaths Downloads

Date Total Deaths Report male female black white race-other race-unknown 30-39 40-49 50-59 60-69 70-79 80-89 90-99 100+
Fri, Nov 5 246 n/a 134 112 35 205 2 4 3 5 20 31 67 79 36 5
Fri, Oct 29 246 src 134 112 35 205 2 4 3 5 20 31 67 79 36 5
Fri, Oct 22 245 src 133 112 34 205 2 4 3 5 19 31 67 79 36 5
Fri, Oct 15 244 src 132 112 34 204 2 4 3 5 19 30 67 79 36 5
Fri, Oct 8 243 src 131 112 34 203 2 4 3 5 19 29 67 79 36 5
Fri, Oct 1 242 src 131 111 34 202 2 4 3 5 19 29 66 79 36 5
Fri, Sep 24 239 src 128 111 33 200 2 4 3 5 18 29 65 78 36 5
Fri, Sep 17 231 n/a 124 107 32 193 2 4 3 5 17 26 64 76 36 4
Fri, Sep 10 220 src 119 101 31 183 2 4 2 2 15 26 61 74 36 4
Fri, Sep 3 219 src 118 101 31 182 2 4 2 2 14 26 61 74 36 4
Fri, Aug 27 216 src 118 98 31 179 2 4 2 1 14 26 59 74 36 4
Fri, Aug 20 211 src 114 97 31 174 2 4 1 1 13 26 58 72 36 4
Fri, Jul 23 209 src 114 95 32 172 1 4 1 1 12 26 58 70 37 4
Fri, Jul 16 208 src 114 94 32 171 1 4 1 1 12 26 57 70 37 4
Fri, Jun 25 207 src 113 94 32 170 1 4 1 1 12 26 56 70 37 4
Mon, Jun 7 204 src 111 93 31 168 1 4 1 1 12 26 56 68 36 4